Ayurvedic Treatment

In Ayurveda treatment consists of four basic forms, namely – medicine or drug therapy, pancha (five) karma (actions/ systems), dietary regime and regulation of lifestyle. And works in two fundamental ways – cure and prevention.

The preventive aspect of treatment is further subdivided into swastha varta (personal hygiene) – consisting of dinacharya (daily routine), ritucharya (seasonal corrections) and sadachara (appropriate behaviour) – rasayana & vajikarana (rejuvenation & virlification) and yoga. The curative aspect consists of three parts antati parimaijana (internal medicine) – consisting of samsodhana (internal purification through panchkarma) and samsamana (curative action) – external medicine as massage, use of pastes & powders and finally surgical treatment.

For proper treatment of disease, ayurveda attempts to determine the exact nature of the malady with reference to the three basic elements (air, fire, and water), the seven tissues (food juice, blood, flesh, fat, bone, bone marrow, and semen). The following factors are considered:

1.  Nidana – the cause of the disease.

2.  Purvarupa – the premonitory signs and symptoms that manifest before the appearance of the disease.

3.  Rupa – symptomology. Rupa describes the actual signs and symptoms of the disease.

4.  Upasaya – exploratory therapy. Some of the drugs, diets, and regiments by acting directly against the cause of the disease, the disease itself, or by producing such effects indirectly are called upasaya. Upsaya is a diagnostic aid for diseases that are otherwise difficult in diagnosis.

5.  Samprapti – the full extent of the disease. Samprapti describes the mode of the disease manifestation.

Examination of Patients  

To ascertain the exact nature of the disease, the ayurvedic physician for the most part depends on eight types of examinations: 1. pulse, 2. urine, 3. stool, 4. tongue, 5. voice, 6. skin, 7. eyes, and, 8. general physical features. The physical examination is conducted in view of the fundamental principles of ayurveda, which include tridosa (three basic elements), the five elements theory, and the seven tissue elements theory.  

Lightening Therapy  

Lightening therapy is thought to be successful when the normal elimination of flatus (gas), urine, and feces is restored; when the body feels light; when the throat and mouth become cleared; when perspiration and taste reappear; when hunger and thirst return; and when the mind recovers its sense of ease.  

Pain in the joints, body aches, cough, oral parching, loss of hunger, anorexia, thirst, weak hearing and sight, confusion, frequent eructation, fainting, loss of body temperature and strength are the consequences of overdone lightening therapy. The difference in the variation of tridosa (air, fire, and water), medical drugs, location, time, strength, diet, condition of the body, mental situation and age should be considered while administering these therapies. Elimination therapy extracts vitiated air, fire, and water, eradicates diseases, restores normal strength and rejuvenates.

Lightening therapy includes five elimination techniques which is discussed in detail in Panchkarma topic:


1. Emetic Therapy (Vamana)

2. Purgative Therapy (Virechan)

3. Enima Therapy (Basti)

4. Nostril Therapy (Nasya)

5. Blood-Letting Therapy (Raktamokshona)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>